Nationwide Society of Movie Critics Names ‘Previous Lives’ Finest Film of 2023 – IndieWire

The Nationwide Society of Movie Critics gave out on its annual movie awards on Saturday, with critics convening in New York and Los Angeles to vote on the years greatest motion pictures and performances.

The 58th annual awards honored a various mixture of small unbiased movies and main studio tasks. Celine Tune’s directorial debut “Previous Lives” gained the highest prize, beating out heavyweight runners-up “Oppenheimer” and “The Zone of Curiosity” for the dignity of Finest Image.

Andrew Scott gained Finest Actor for his efficiency in “All of Us Strangers,” whereas the Finest Actress prize was bestowed upon Sandra Hüller for her roles in each “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Curiosity.” In one of many season’s most stacked classes, Charles Melton took house Finest Supporting Actor for “Could December,” although Oscar favorites Ryan Gosling and Robert Downey Jr. have been each named runners-up.

Even the late Jean-Luc Godard was capable of win a posthumous award for Finest Experimental Movie for his ultimate brief, “Trailer of a Movie That Will By no means Exist: Phony Wars.”

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA - FEBRUARY 05: Teyana Taylor attends Universal Music Group's 2023 GRAMMYS after party celebration at Milk Studios Los Angeles on February 05, 2023 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Rodin Eckenroth/Getty Images)
BARBIE, from left: Ryan Gosling, Margot Robbie, 2023. © Warner Bos. /Courtesy Everett Collection

Preserve studying for the entire checklist of winners from the 2024 Nationwide Society of Movie Critics awards.

Finest Image: “Previous Lives”
“The Zone of Curiosity”

Finest Director:
Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Curiosity”
Todd Haynes, “Could December”
Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”

Finest Actor: Andrew Scott, “All of Us Strangers”
Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction”
Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer”

Finest Actress: Sandra Hüller, “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Curiosity”
Emma Stone, “Poor Issues”
Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Finest Supporting Actor: Charles Melton, “Could December”
Runners-up: Robert Downey, Jr., “Oppenheimer”, and Ryan Gosling, “Barbie” (tie)

Finest Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Pleasure Randolph, “The Holdovers”
Penélope Cruz, “Ferrari”
Rachel McAdams, “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret”

Finest screenplay: Samy Burch, “Could December”
Celine Tune, “Previous Lives”
David Hemingson, “The Holdovers”

Finest cinematography: Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Łukasz Żal, “The Zone of Curiosity”
Hoyte van Hoytema, “Oppenheimer”

Finest experimental movie: Jean Luc-Godard’s “Trailer of a Movie That Will By no means Exist: Phony Wars”

Movie heritage award: Criterion Channel

Movie heritage award: Aspects, Kim’s Video, Scarecrow Video and Vidiots

Particular quotation for a movie awaiting U.S. distribution: Víctor Erice’s “Shut Your Eyes”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top